Awards and Recognition Program

Congratulations to our 2013 award winners! See a full listing here.
View a full list of past award winners online.

BSCAI Excellence in Sustainability

Presented by Betco

The Sustainability Award recognizes outstanding achievement by a building services company in the implementation and promotion of green cleaning practices and in the advancement of sustainable building services program benefits.

2013 submissions are now closed.

James E. Purcell Leadership Award

The James E. Purcell Leadership Award is the most prestigious award presented each year by BSCAI. It is given in recognition of long-term service to both the Association and the building service contracting industry. James E. Purcell was BSCAI's founder and first President serving from 1965-1967. He is also the President Emeritus of BSCAI.

The previous year's BSCAI President will be honored with this award at the Annual Convention.

Walter L. Cook Award for Distinguished Service

The Walter L. Cook Award for Distinguished Service is presented to the BSCAI member who has made outstanding contributions in furthering the programs and image of the association and the building service contracting industry. Current members of the BSCAI Board of Directors are not eligible to receive this award. Walter L. Cook was BSCAI's Executive Vice President from 1974 – 1983. Nominees are submitted to the BSCAI Awards Committee and to the BSCAI Board of Directors for selection and approval.

2013 Submissions are now closed.

Arthur C. Barraclough Company Community Service Award

This award recognizes companies for their volunteer effort for charities and the community. The winner will receive a crystal award that can be prominently displayed in their lobby, and BSCAI will make a cash donation to a charity of the winner's choice.

Arthur C. Barraclough, CBSE, served on numerous BSCAI committees, with 3 terms on its Board of Directors, and was BSCAI President-Elect, until his untimely death in May of 2004.

2013 Submissions are now closed. 

Building Service Employee of the Year Award

Sponsored by Hillyard, Inc.

The Building Service Employee of the Year Award honors that building service contracting employee whose job performance, civic involvement and family role best exemplify qualities found in superior custodial employees. The Building Service Employee of the Year Award winner will be invited to receive the award at the convention’s opening general session.

The winner of the award will also recieve a round-trip coach airfare to the convention and $1,000, a handsome plaque, and a medallion. One or more of your employees may be nominated for this honor by using the enclosed official nomination form. Don't miss this opportunity to nominate someone worthy of this prestigious award!

2013 Submissions are now closed.

Industry Service Award

The Industry Service Award is presented in recognition of long-term service to the Association by an individual or a company not engaged in building service contracting.

2013 Submissions are now closed. 

Safety Awards

As part of BSCAI's on-going effort to promote safety throughout the Association and industry, BSCAI invites entries for it's Safety Awards Competition. As in previous years, BSCAI's Safety Awards will be given to the companies with the best safety records, and plaques will be presented to winners at the annual convention.

2013 Submissions are now closed. 

Image Awards

BSCAI recognizes companies that have excelled in enhancing the image of their businesses. Their efforts also enhance the image of our industry to the customer and to the general public. Winners receive a plaque presented at the annual convention and winning entries will be displayed at the convention.

This competition will recognize the industry's best in the following categories:

  •     Best Marketing Piece
  •     Best Employee Newsletter
  •     Best Company Uniform
  •     Best Company Web site

2013 Submissions are now closed.